Now

Inspired by Derek Sivers‘s /now project, this page gives an overview of what’s going on with me recently. Categories come from the Circle of Life activity from the Institute for Integrative Nutrition. This page was last updated in April 2019.

📅 Currently

🎧 Listening: ?
🎮 Playing: Horizon Zero Dawn
📕 Reading: Keep Going by Austin Kleon
📺 Watching: ?
🎨 Making: Scalloped Bikini Top by Doris Chan

🎭 Creativity

I’m in production for my Buffy the Vampire Slayer retrospective podcast, Things of Bronze. I’m slowly crocheting my way through Doris Chan’s catalog of designs. I’m thinking about how I’d next like to get on stage.

💰 Finances

I’m working on eating out less and cooking more, because our household spends a ridiculous proportion of our income on food.

💼 Career

My grant project, Project READY, is winding down, with only revisions and dissemination of our final curriculum yet to go. I’m finalizing the contract for a consultancy in the content strategy/information organization space, and using this invited consultancy as a test case for whether consulting regularly is something i would like to pursue.

🎒 Education

I’m preparing the written comprehensive literature review for my qualifying exams for a doctorate in library and information science. I plan to take the oral exam in late August and defend my dissertation proposal in early October.

⚕️ Health

I’m building consistency in taking the three prescription medications, twelve supplements, and one over-the-counter allergy medication I need to make my body work like a normal body.

👟 Physical Activity

I’m taking occasional walks with my family, with hopes of taking up a gentle aqua exercise class soon.

🍴Home Cooking

I’m planning my meals based on the PCOS Diva Spring Meal Plans.

🏠 Home Environment

The layout of our current house doesn’t suit our lifestyle right now, so we’re keeping an eye out for a new home. In the meantime we’re packing and purging, planning to transition our playroom into a family room, and keeping up with regular maintenance that we neglected in the first seven years we owned our home.

💞 Relationships

W. and I are making it a point to get out just the two of us every once in a while. It’s always fun. I hope as M. gets older that we’ll be able to grab these moments together more frequently. Speaking of M., he is very two years old and I love him very much.

🙏 Social Life

That emoji is a high five, not prayer hands, okay? This is one area that has been lacking for a while, but lately I’ve been making strides. I’ve attended Silent Book Club a couple of times. I’m also participating frequently in the Creative Adventure Rocket Ship forums and the IndieWeb chat.

😸 Joy

I’m not really sure what the designers of the exercise mean by Joy, because for me, each of the other areas contributes to my joy already. So I’m using this category to talk about fun, because it doesn’t really fit anywhere else. Right now I’m playing Horizon: Zero Dawn on the Playstation 4. I’m loving it; when I’m in the middle of a long-term project it’s nice to have a “map game” that gives me clear objectives that I can achieve in an hour or less. Plus, it’s always pleasant to wander beautiful imaginary landscapes. I’m also working my way through the hopepunk storytelling trend, mostly reading things. Oh, and I’m obsessing over Queer Eye and Crazy Ex-Girlfriend.

🔮 Spirituality

I’m exploring the Moonchild Tarot as a means of tapping into my own intuition, and using lunar cycles, especially the new moon and full moon, to help me set intentions for what I want to bring into my life and what I want to release from my life.